Conclusion of great year of 2021, moving forward to 2022.

Assalamualaikum and very good day to all of you. It was a challenging year for me as we have to still stay mostly online learning mode, but I was more confident than last year, mainly due to last two years experience, more buy in for elearning, technology enhanced learning, and Open & Distance Learning (ODL) by faculty and senior management makes interesting to work on blended learning, ODL, micro credentials, and digital tranformation initiatives.

Experience/Summary:

As usual year end review I will look back, reflect and summarize key projects. Here, I will share with you my experience and my achievements. I would say year 2021 was very active year as far as workshops, webinars and research publications are concerned. Alhumdullil Allah, I was fortunate to have a chance to practice more inspirational leadership, people management and other project management skills.What I explored most of the time, when it comes to application or practicality in real environment, you need to fine tune theory to adjust your self, your environment, your institution and your team. Always know strengths of all team members, knowing people and managing them and their expectations are keys to success. Trust, empowerment and constructive feedback could help to excel and enhance your team performance. Always willing to explore new things with calculated risk will keep you and your team relevant. Sharing my two cents 🙂

Live Streaming:

Alhumdullil Allah I tried to explore live streaming which I was passive user of different platforms for last several years. Currently I will be coming live on my YouTube Channel, (Please subscribe to my channel, like and share my videos :)). I was given permission to go live on LinkedIn, you can connect me via my profile page. I started my live streaming using HAPPS platform, which allows you to multistream to different platforms, you can check my porfile on HAPPS. I will be exploring more platforms (e.g., clubhouse, tweeter spaces, tiktok and insta live). Stay tuned and appreciate your support by subscribing to all my profiles and giving constructive feedback on my content.

Hybrid/HyFlex Classroom:

I was assigned task to assist team to select appropriate technology(Teachnology) for our institution, we explored different vendors and platforms. we will start small to evaluate hybrid concept and gradually enhance further. I wrote a blog post on Innovative interruptions in web conferencing posted in October, 2020, sharing different platforms, how we could use these platforms to provide virtual classroom features. When it comes to hardware, sky is the limit, but with innovation you can use simple technology and can enhance online, virtual and hybrid learning experiences. Pedagogy is critical to fix first, technology will come last.

Micro Learning:

We always try to simplify and chunk our learning content. Several years ago I heard three minutes thesis presentation. Looking at multinational companies, trying to promote their products with 1 minute videos. We have explored micro Learning concept to engage learner and make micro learning as a great scaffolding approach for learners. I have written a detailed blog post on MicroLearning during pandemic.

Micro Credentials:

I was given task and appointed Project Manager for micro credentials courses design, development and portal design project. We always try to unbandle our curriculum, but due to pandemic high demand to reskill and upskill work force, expedite this initiative. You can access recording of my talk on micro learning and micro credentials.

Workshops/Webinars:

Due to advancement in webconferencing platforms and new trend of virtual events. I was fortunate to attend as speaker/facilitator in several international events without travelling to different part of the world.

I was invited to give talk on Scenario based learning using simulation and gamification at Maastricht University, IRESIM research group. Recording of my talk is shared in the following link:

Scenario-based learning in Simulation and GamificationThursday, January 28th, 2021
Wearable Technologies in Medical Education
Iran University of Medical Sciences(IUMS) 19th June 2021. Sharing Summary of my talk.

Blockchain Technology in Medical Education
Iran University of Medical Sciences(IUMS) Jul 03, 2021. Sharing slides of my talk.

Finding The Correct Blend To Engage Your Students On-Campus And Off-Campus Using Instructional Design Principles For Designing Online Learning Experiences
APMEC 2022 (NUS and UM) Jan 12. 2022

Detail list of all my talks and recording of these talks/workshops can be accessed by clicking here.

iLRF2021:

This is the second year we are going for virtual event, theme for this year’s event is driving digital transformation: adapting to the future learning demands. So far more than two thousand visitors have accessed the website of the event. We are expecting to have more than 50 International IIInnovasi and educational games competition submission.  This year we integrate Discord platform with our event website, to attract and engage gamers and young audience to the event.

Moving Forward:

Looking forward to year 2022, I will be exploring more in immersive learning experiences, Mobile Collaborative Informal Learning (MCIL), Neural Networks, AI, Data Analytics, Digital Tranformation, Authentic Leadership Style, People Management and wellbeing of myself, family and team. Thank you for reaching to this point and feel free to give your feedback to enhance further.

About Hasnain Zafar Baloch

I am from Jhang, Pakistan. Lived most of my childhood and teenage in Saudi Arabia. Worked for a couple of years at PCI, Lahore as Network Engineer. Later moved to M-Artal. Traveled to Penang, Malaysia for postgraduate studies at University of Science (USM) Malaysia. Worked at Multimedia University Melaka Campus, Malaysia for several years, before moving again to Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. Worked at King AbdulAziz University for about seven years. Decided to move back to Malaysia for further studies and worked as senior Instructional Designer (ID) and currently working as Manager, eLearning at Private Medical University in Malaysia. All opinions are my own and do not reflect employer's. http://bit.ly/2s9ChkS
This entry was posted in Year End Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Conclusion of great year of 2021, moving forward to 2022.

  1. Sufyan Akram says:

    Such a nice summary
    Very useful to most of us in academia

    Like

Leave a comment