Year End Review for 2022 and Looking Forward to 2023

Assalamualaikum and very good day to all of you. It was a challenging year for me as we were still mostly on online learning mode. One year passed very fast, lot of interventions, I was lucky to be involved with digital transformation initiatives which were expedited due to pandemic, lot of institutions were forced to switch to fully online and this makes them to think to invest into their infrastructure and infostructure.  

As usual while writing year-end review I will look back, reflect and summarize key projects. Here, I will share with you my experiences and my achievements for the year 2022.

AMEE Lyon, France:

I got the opportunity to attend International Medical Education Conference, AMEE at Lyon France. Thank you to my Institution in doing all these arrangements. It was a very big event as they merged Ottawa Conference also. I explored a lot and met lot of senior faculty and gurus in the Medical Education. I conducted workshop on flipped learning and got a chance to discuss different products with various vendors at the Exhibition Centre. I am sharing the summarized slides listing the sessions I have attended and vendors I have met during my visit to AMEE.

Metaverse:

Metaverse was again discussed this year. Actually, this concept is not new, advancement of virtual environment platforms, incorporation of 3D objects, global social collaborative interactions make this area very exciting to explore in for medical education. I would like to share some of key platforms you can explore such are Mozilla Hubs, Second life, and Decentraland. For complete list visit my Zeef list sharing on the list of platforms.

Webinars/ Workshops:

I would say year 2022 was a very active year as far as workshops, webinars and research publications are concerned. Alhumdullil Allah, I was fortunate to have a chance to practice more inspirational leadership, people management and other project management skills. For detail list of my talks for year 2022 you can visit my blog posts.

Learning Analytics:

Big data and information analytics has been there for a while. How we could use it to do predictive analysis of learning data makes it an exciting area to explore. To make meaningful intelligent decision first of all you need to select appropriate data capture points from whole journey of learners in education ecosystem. Need to have strong platform with data analytics, machine learning algorithms and very customized dashboards for all level of management and stakeholders. Just to share some platforms which can be key ingredients for the success of analytics projects. I would suggest exploring Google Analytics, Power BI, WEKA, SMARTKLASS and Intelliboard which can be integrated with Learning Management Systems and other university portals.  

Learning Resources Repository:

To save processing time, duplication of education resources and easy searching of learning objects, repository will be great solution for any institution. Need to have proper plan to execute repository project at institutional level. I am in support of central digital repository, which will act as single point of sources for digital learning resources for all portals. You can explore sharepoint with ONEDRIVE and STREAM, Dspace, Panapto, Kaltura. Last two are more suitable for video-based content.

Moving Forward:

I am open to explore more for next year and focus more on people management, strategic management, collaboration with international institutions, would like to work with key stakeholders in educational technology and medical education. Thank you for reading my year end review. I will start going live on my YouTube Channel. Please feel free to visit my channel, share and do subscribe my channel. Thank you again. I would appreciate if you could leave some comments for enhancement and further growth.

Sharing recording of my talk on Interactive Content Design for Blended Learning

About Hasnain Zafar Baloch

I am from Jhang, Pakistan. Lived most of my childhood and teenage in Saudi Arabia. Worked for a couple of years at PCI, Lahore as Network Engineer. Later moved to M-Artal. Traveled to Penang, Malaysia for postgraduate studies at University of Science (USM) Malaysia. Worked at Multimedia University Melaka Campus, Malaysia for several years, before moving again to Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. Worked at King AbdulAziz University for about seven years. Decided to move back to Malaysia for further studies and worked as senior Instructional Designer (ID) and currently working as Manager, eLearning at Private Medical University in Malaysia. All opinions are my own and do not reflect employer's. http://bit.ly/2s9ChkS
This entry was posted in Workshops, Year End Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Year End Review for 2022 and Looking Forward to 2023

  1. Saima Batool says:

    It seems to be a fruitful year for you. Keep shining and spreading the knowledge in the coming year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment